cetecom advanced

Wi-Fi Alliance introduces Wi-Fi 6 and changes standard naming

Standards are now defined as Wi-Fi 4, Wi-Fi 5 and Wi-Fi 6
Wi-Fi™ Alliance

Last month, the Wi-Fi Alliance announced a major update that included the introduction of Wi-Fi 6 and the renaming of previous Wi-Fi standards.

While Wi-Fi 6, which is based on the IEEE 802.11ax standard, heralds the new generation of Wi-Fi technology, the other Wi-Fi standards are also affected by this change. With a renaming of those, the Wi-Fi Alliance hopes to better delineate the different standards for consumers and make it easier to distinguish between products that use the standards.

In general, based on the information provided by the Wi-Fi Alliance, the following changes can be outlined:

  • Wi-Fi 6 identifies devices that support 802.11 ax technology.
  • Wi-Fi 5 identifies devices that support 802.11 ac technology.
  • Wi-Fi 4 identifies devices that support 802.11 n technology.

According to the Wi-Fi Alliance, the related certification program for Wi-Fi 6 will be introduced in 2019.

Here are information on the new generation Wi-Fi 6 and the renaming of standards, You can also find general information on Wi-Fi Alliance certification and regulatory WLAN testing on our website.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us directly: contact@cetecom.com

Stay up to date.
The cetecom advanced newsletter is sent out about once a month. No constant follow-up mails.
Only selected content from our experts.